The National Election Authority Announces The Names of the Candidates in The Presidential Election

Initially, there had been five candidates who announced their intentions to run for the presidency. Former Prime Minister Ahmed Shafiq, rights lawyer Khaled Ali, Parliamentarian Mortada Mansour, and Esmat al-Sadat, nephew of assassinated Egyptian President Anwar al-Sadat. However, they all have withdrawn from the race.

As for Former Military Chief of Staff, Sami Anan, he is being held by the military over accusations of forgery. The allegation against Anan is the announcement of his intention of running in the presidential election without receiving prior permission from the Armed Forces.

Consequently, on January 31, 2018, the NEA stated that the two runners in the upcoming presidential election are current president Abdelfattah ElSisi and head of ElGhad party Moussa Mostafa Moussa.

As per the official newspaper, ElSisi received recommendations of 549 MPs and support letters from 161,707 citizens. On the other hand, Moussa received recommendations of 20 MPs.

The voting process is dated to commence on March 26, as announced by the NEA on January 8, 2018.

60 million eligible citizens, resident voters will cast their ballots in the election between March 26 and March 28. As for the expats, their voting will take place between March 16 and March 18.

Nevertheless, expats in Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and the Central African Republic will not be able to vote.

“Egypt does not have an embassy in Libya; therefore, no elections will be conducted there. Egyptians living in Somalia spend most of their time in the Kenyan capital, Nairobi; moreover, the Egyptian embassy in the Central African Republic is closed,” Deputy Foreign Minister for African Affairs Hamdi Sanad Loza said, adding that the security conditions in Syria and Yemen are not stable which may impede the voting process there if it were to take place.